Racial Justice Pilot Learning Project

Written By Call To Action

|

May 12, 2016

|

Focus Areas: ,

SURJ-Faith has developed a Pilot Learning Project to support congregations/spiritual communities in responding to the call for white people of faith to be more bold in taking action for racial justice.  As Black Christian writer Austin Channing says, congregations and spiritual communities “must be on the forefront of combating white supremacy and the fear, resentment and scarcity that white supremacy nurtures. Or else we will continue to pay a heavy price for the burdens  and violence of racism, nativism, exclusion, resentment and fear. All these lead to violence. Every time. It is the only place they lead.”

Showing Up for Racial Justice – Building Racial Justice Spiritual Communities

What:    A 6-9 month learning project for white people in congregations/spiritual communities to participate in actions for racial justice and deepen learning, experience, and relationships.  Communities will share learnings with SURJ in preparation for a broader campaign for communities to identify as active Racial Justice spiritual communities.

 Who:    Congregations/spiritual communities around the country who are (or who want to be) connected to SURJ.

 Why:    Because white spiritual communities – and the multi-faith community – have a role to play in advancing racial justice, and we want to learn from each other how best to move forward, both within our congregations/communities, and in public partnership and witness.

 When:    Beginning Spring 2016, and continuing through the end of 2016 (or beyond, if you choose!)

 

Interested? SURJ-Faith will be having two national Q&A calls to share more about the Learning Project and to answer your questions. Register for the time that works best for you (both calls will cover the same info), and invite others in your congregation/spiritual community to do the same.

Register for a call here: http://myaccount.maestroconference.com/conference/register/VWIJ5TC23HGJKES3

Option 1:  Tuesday, May 24th, at 9am Pacific/10am Mountain/11am Central/12pm Eastern

Option 2:  Tuesday, May 24th, at 5pm Pacific/6pm Mountain/7pm Central/8pm Eastern

Sign Up to participate in the Project here:http://goo.gl/forms/dFK1qslWo1

Questions? Contact Rev. Anne Dunlap at adunlap70@gmail.com

Comments are closed here.